If you’ve been injured in an accident in Louisiana, you may be asking yourself: Can I afford a lawyer? Depending on the severity of your injury or damage to your property, you could be facing medical bills, lost wages, and expensive repairs. At Brandt & Sherman, we strive to help you recover the compensation you deserve. Yet we know you may be hesitant to call and ask for legal assistance. You may be worried that hiring a lawyer will cost you money that you don’t have. That’s why the lawyers at Brandt & Sherman don’t charge any upfront costs. If you’ve been injured in an accident but are concerned that you can’t afford a personal injury lawyer, read on to discover how a Lafayette law firm like Brandt & Sherman can help you navigate your personal injury claim—without out-of-pocket costs.
In Louisiana, most personal injury lawyers don’t charge hourly rates. Instead, lawyers work on a contingency fee model. This means that your lawyer’s fee depends on whether they win your case. At Brandt & Sherman Personal Injury Lawyers we don’t get paid until you get paid. You don’t pay anything upfront, and if we don’t recover a monetary settlement for you, you don’t owe us anything. This way, we work together with you as a team. If you win, we win.
A contingency fee for an accident lawyer in Louisiana is about 33.3%, or one-third of your final settlement amount. This percentage may be higher if your lawyer needs to file a lawsuit (due to the additional work required to file the suit). Fortunately, most personal injury cases settle out of court.
Note that Louisiana state legislature requires that lawyers put contingency fees in writing, documenting their agreement with you and how they choose to communicate with you on matters of the contingency arrangement.
After winning your case or settling out of court, you’ll be awarded compensation for your injuries, pain and suffering, and property damage. If you’ve settled your claim out of court, you will receive a settlement check within 30 days. If your case needs to go to court, however, and you’re awarded compensation by a court judgment, it may take several months to years to reach you. That’s why it’s so important to have an experienced personal injury attorney looking out for your best interests so that you get the money you need to take care of yourself, and to provide for your family, as quickly as possible.
After settlement check disbursement, your lawyer will deduct the costs of the lawsuit (if your case went to court) and any other expenses incurred from representing you. Then, they will deduct their fees and expenses, and clear any liens for unpaid bills you may have incurred.
There is a myriad of costs associated with suing someone after a car accident, and Louisiana courts require that all of these fees be paid prior to filing. If you have retained the services of a personal injury lawyer like the ones at Brandt & Sherman, we’ll cover all of these costs upfront, so you don’t need to worry about paying anything until after your case is settled. When your case is resolved, all of these costs will be deducted off the top of your settlement. Below are a few examples of the costs of filing a lawsuit.
It costs $250 to file a civil suit in Louisiana. This amount does not include administrative fees, the price of service (ensuring the defendant gets a copy of the lawsuit), or additional expenses like faxes, photocopies, postage, and courier services. Once your case is underway, costs may continue to accumulate. Filing a motion in Louisiana costs $150, with extra fees for exhibits or attachments. Your case may require common case elements like mediation and discovery, expert witnesses, transportation, applicable hourly rates, and potential investigative fees.
To file a personal injury claim, reach out to us at Brandt & Sherman Injury Lawyers if you’re in Lafayette, LA or a surrounding parish. With over 30 years of experience, we’ll take on the insurance Goliaths for you and make sure you get the help you need and deserve. Contact us today, and see how we become your lawyer, your voice.